Investigation of Halal Status and Permitted Industrial Utilization of Carmine Dye in Iran
Abstract
Background: The limited arable land for producing animal and plant-based foods has compelled governments to explore foods and additives from uncommon sources such as insects. In this manuscript, we investigated the carmine certification by Iranian halal authorities and provided a list of the approved food products containing carmine in Iran.
Methods: The Halal Research Center of Iran inquired the halal status of carmine from the office of the supreme leader in Iran. Details of the dye’s consumption in food products were explained to the authorities, and their final decision, or “fatwa” was followed regarding the possible use of carmine in the products. A list of food products with permitted levels of carmine, deemed safe in Iran, is also provided.
Results: Our investigation revealed that carmine, due to its insect origin, is not inherently halal. However, its usage as a food additive in small quantities is permitted under the term of Istahala. Despite the ongoing debates about the halal status and allergenicity of carmine, it is currently used as a food additive in Europe and the United States. In this regard, a permitted level of 50-500 mg/kg is allowed for carmine and its derivatives in food products. In Iran, carmine is permitted in various foods such as fruit beverages, jellies, chocolate dragees, chewing gums, breakfast cereals, candies, and toffees, dairy desserts, sport, and caffeinated drinks, up to the required level, except for margarine, which has a maximum permitted level of 500 mg/kg.
Conclusion: Carmine use should be listed as an ingredient on product labels to help consumers select appropriate foods, especially for vegans.